Nervous Patti Smith needed two attempts to get through Bob Dylan’s A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall at the Nobel Prize ceremony

Posted: December 27, 2016 in Bob Dylan, Nobel Prize, Patti Smith, Poet
Tags: ,

Bob Dylan’s Nobel Prize investiture is celebrated by Patti Smith’s rendition of his classic ‘A Hard Rain’s A Gonna Fall’. Listen to it. The second stanza is below. There is sheer brilliance in its lyricism and imagery.

“Oh, what did you see, my blue-eyed son?
Oh, what did you see, my darling young one?
I saw a newborn baby with wild wolves all around it
I saw a highway of diamonds with nobody on it
I saw a black branch with blood that kept drippin’
I saw a room full of men with their hammers a-bleedin’
I saw a white ladder all covered with water
I saw ten thousand talkers whose tongues were all broken
I saw guns and sharp swords in the hands of young children
And it’s a hard, and it’s a hard, it’s a hard, it’s a hard
And it’s a hard rain’s a-gonna fall.”

Hey, hey! What have you got to say?

