I was always fascinated by George Harrison!

Posted: October 4, 2011 in about me, Beatles, George Harrison and Ringo Starr
Tags: , ,

Used to adore George Harrison when I was a kid. I remembered word to word the song ” while my guitar gently weeps”, even now its so fresh in my mind. For years, George Harrison’s music had some sort of connection with me.I found comfort in them and a hope and a special experience listening to his music. I was always fascinated by George Harrison, I don’t know why.

I’m so excited now there is a much-anticipated film on George Harrison coming soon. Every time I see or hear anything to do with George Harrison it brings back memories than you would believe.

This film a documentary, “George Harrison: Living in the Material World”, tracing the life and work of George Harrison who died in 2001 at the age of 58, is to be released in British cinemas only for one night today, but will be telecast by the BBC next month. Can’t wait to see this.

For your information, Harrison, who was drawn to Indian culture in the 1960s in pursuit of spiritualism, once said: “We had lots of material things at quite an early age and we learned that wasn’t it, we still lacked something.”

I remembered Eric Clapton once described George Harrison as someone special who created “something unique”.

Here is “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”. Enjoy….

Comments
  1. fortsmarter says:

    I’ve always had a quiet admiration for George Harrison.

    Not a publicity seeker, he comes better and more interesting as time unveils more about him.

    Curiously, I never have had time for Lennon or McCartney. I don’t think I ever will.

    RIP George.

    Like

  2. toado says:

    Good man our George…RIP

    Like

  3. Mitch45 says:

    Exactly, Elizabro. His Wings stuff is a mixed bag but some of it is fantastic (Band on the Run, of course, and Venus and Mars). And the Wings live album proves what an incredible live performer he was and still is.

    Harrison, by contrast, put on weak concerts, had trouble singing live (his voice wasn’t strong enough), and shied away from live performance most of his post-Beatles life (after getting booed in 74) because he couldn’t do it well.

    I think it’s great to see this doc about George because he was an interesting guy but the degree of hagiography (“wasn’t George the fabbest”) is just fan worship.

    Like

  4. ElizaBro says:

    George had one good solo record (All Things Must Pass) and produced a whole lot of mediocre forgettable songs after that and a good one here and there. McCartney’s solo career is far far deeper and far more interesting, from McCartney to the genius of Ram to the pop-rock brilliance of Band on the Run to the odd experimentation of McCartney II and, more recently to 2005’s Chaos and Creation and 2008’s Electric Arguments, both great albums. It’s absolute idiocy the way people diminish his solo work without knowing much about it. If it’s not to your taste, fine, but McCartney’s solo career runs circles around Harrison’s or Lennon’s. And much of Harrison’s albums are just dull.

    Like

  5. Charlie says:

    I believe that McCartney/Lennon were a great writing pair and once they broke up McCartney went with Wings which really shows McCartney’s lesser talent as well as Johns solo career which was never fully realized because of a maniac. When George went Solo, He consistently put out phenomenal songs and albums. George, you were and are the best and I miss you sorely!

    Like

  6. VJ says:

    Go here there a sneak peek of the documentary, http://www.georgeharrison.com/

    Like

Hey, hey! What have you got to say?

