Wall Street Journal Editor Fined For Contempt Of Court in Singapore

Posted: March 20, 2009 in Contempt Of Court, defamation, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Singapore, Wall Street Journal
Tags:


A Singapore judge ruled a senior Wall Street Journal Editor was in contempt of court on Thursday for two editorials and a letter to the Editor published last year about the city-state’s judiciary.

High Court Justice Tay Yong Kwang also fined Melanie Kirkpatrick, Deputy Editor of the Wall Street Journal editorial page, 10,000 Singapore dollars and said she must pay the same amount in legal costs.

Singapore’s leaders have sued journalists and political opponents several times in recent years for alleged defamation.

Justice Tay had fined Wall Street Journal in November for publishing the same material which the government claimed questioned the judiciary’s independence from Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Comments
  1. AcughlilA says:

    brill site this selvarajasomiah.wordpress.com nice to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

    Like

  2. AcughlilA says:

    great site this selvarajasomiah.wordpress.com nice to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

    Like

  3. Imickimmutt says:

    Great site this selvarajasomiah.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor :)

    Like

  4. Antares says:

    Singapore makes me claustrophobic.

    Like

Hey, hey! What have you got to say?

